Second Life of a Hungarian SharePoint Geek

September 29, 2012

Corrupt cabinet file when installing SharePoint 2013

Filed under: Installation, SP 2013 — Tags: , — Peter Holpar @ 15:09

The other day I was to install a SharePoint 2013 test environment, but experienced a strange problem during the process.

My environment was as follows:

Host:

  • Windows Server 2008 R2

2 guests, running in Hyper-V:

Domain Controller:

  • Windows Server 2012 RC

SharePoint server:

  • Windows Server 2012 RC
  • SQL Server 2012
  • SharePoint 2013 Preview

(Yes, I know running of Windows Server 2012 guest on Windows Server 2008 R2 host is officially unsupported, but I’m not sure it is the root of my issue.)

WS2012s and SQL were installed without problems.

The SharePoint 2013 Preview install media I used was the one I downloaded a few days after it has been published.

Short after starting the SharePoint setup, the following error message was displayed and the process has been terminated:

The cabinet file ‘OSrchWFE.CAB’ required for this installation is corrupt and cannot be used. This could indicate a network error, an error reading from the CD-ROM, or a problem with this package.

image

I looked up the ‘OSrchWFE.CAB’ file in the file system, and tried to open it there, but it was really corrupt.

image

When I checked the signature of the file I found that it was not valid:

image 

… and after clicking View Certificate:

image

Up to this point it seemed like a “standard” file corruption. However, I was really surprised after checking the same ‘OSrchWFE.CAB’ on the host (or on another W2K8 R2), there I was able to open the very same file, and had no problem with the signature.

Since I have found a similar issue with SharePoint 2010 in this forum thread, and had not better idea than the “solution” suggested there, I downloaded the SharePoint installer again.

I’ve checked the CAB file, that had no problem this time, and finished the installation successfully.

See the Countersignatures section below with the item that was missing the first time (see the corresponding dialog above):

image

image

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

